Cricket Sri Lanka vs India One Day International Match ODI 2009 News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Sri Lanka tour of India Nov-Dec 2009 - One Day Internationals

India vs Sri Lanka Third ODI Match
Cuttack, December 21, 2009

Cuttack ODI: Sachin, Jadeja star in India's win at Cuttack (IND-SRL: 2-1|5)

Sachin Tendulkar's unbeaten 96 led India to a seven-wicket victory in the third One Day International against Sri Lanka in Cuttack, with 7.2 overs to spare.
Upul Tharanga (73), Kumar Sangakkara (46) and Tillakaratne Dilshan (41 off 18 balls) earlier gave Sri Lanka a superb start as they powered to 165-1 after winning the toss. Sri Lanka raced to their fifty off just 3.4 overs, which was the third joint fastest team fifty in ODIs.
Ravindra Jadeja claimed a career-best 4-32 as India's bowlers fought back well to restrict Sri Lanka to just 239 all out. He won his first Man of the Match award for his contribution. Sri Lanka could only muster 74 runs while losing the last 9 wickets.

Stand-in skipper Virender Sehwag (44 off 28 balls) gave India a solid start. After he was out, Gautam Gambhir (32) continued the chase in partnership with Tendulkar, adding 72 for the second wicket. Sachin hit 13 fours in 104 balls, but was stranded at 96 after Karthik (36 not out) hit a boundary to finish the game. India now has a 2-1 lead in the five-match series.
India 242/3 (Tendulkar 96*) beat Sri Lanka 239 (Tharanga 73, Jadeja 4-32) by seven wickets

Cuttack ODI: India, Lanka, look to win the cliffhanger in Orissa

Virendra Sehwag will be the Indian skipper as they take on a depleted Sri Lankan side at the Barabati Stadium in Orissa in the crucial third one day International of the Karbonn Cup. The latest Sri Lankan player to be ruled out with injury is Angelo Mathews. The Sri Lankan cricket board said he will return home due to the strain suffered to his right quadricep muscle during the match winning innings in Nagpur. Thissara Perera has been called up to replace Mathews for the third match.

India will miss the services of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, banned from two ODIs for the team's slow over-rate, but Yuvraj Singh is expected to make a return. Dinesh Karthik will be replacing Dhoni while S Sreesanth who has recoved from swine flu will be in the team.
Both teams would look to win the 3rd ODI and take lead. The D/N match will start at 2:30 PM IST. India (From): Virender Sehwag(c), Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Ishant Sharma, Pragyan Ojha, Virat Kohli, Praveen Kumar, Sudeep Tyagi.
Sri Lanka (From): Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara(w/c), Mahela Jayawardene, Thilina Kandamby, Chamara Kapugedera, Sanath Jayasuriya, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, Chanaka Welegedara, Thilan Samaraweera, Angelo Mathews, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Thilan Thushara, Muthumudalige Pushpakumara.

Slow over-rate in Nagpur ODI - MS Dhoni banned for two ODIs

Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been banned for two ODIs - with immediate effect - because India maintained slow over-rate during the second match against Sri Lanka in Nagpur. The rest of the Indian players were fined 40% of their match fee for the offence. Dhoni will be unavailable for the games in Cuttack and Kolkata, returning only for the final ODI in Delhi. Virendra Sehwag will captain the side in his absence. Tamil Nadu wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik has been included in the Indian team for next two One-dayers to keep wickets in place of Dhoni. Ishant Sharma has also been recalled into the squad in place of fellow pacer S Sreesanth who is suffering from swine flu. There has been no other changes made in the squad announced by BCCI secretary N Srinivasan after a selection committee meeting in Chennai. Indian team for third and fourth ODIs: Virender Sehwag (Capt.), Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Dinesh Karthik (Wicket Keeper), Suresh Raina, Ravinder Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Ishant Sharma, Virat Kohli, Sudip Tyagi, Praveen Kumar and Pragyan Ojha.

India vs Sri Lanka Scoreboard

India vs Sri Lanka Nov-Dec 2009 Schedule

India vs Sri Lanka in India, 2009-2010

Date Match Venue
November 11-13 Indian Board Preisdent's XI vs Sri Lanka - Warm-up match Mumbai
November 16-20 India vs Sri Lanka - First Test Ahmedabad
November 24-28 India vs Sri Lanka - Second Test Kanpur
December 2-6 India vs Sri Lanka - Third Test Mumbai
December 9 India vs Sri Lanka - 1st Twenty20 international Nagpur
December 12 India vs Sri Lanka - 2nd Twenty20 international Mohali
December 15 India vs Sri Lanka - First ODI Rajkot
December 18 India vs Sri Lanka - Second ODI (D/N) Nagpur
December 21 India vs Sri Lanka - Third ODI (D/N) Cuttack
December 24 India vs Sri Lanka - Fourth ODI (D/N) Kolkata
December 27 India vs Sri Lanka - Fifth ODI Delhi

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.