India vs Sri Lanka ODI Series 2012

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India vs Sri Lanka 5 ODI Series 2012

India vs Sri Lanka 5th ODI at Pallekele

5th ODI IND vs SRL: India rise to No. 2 with narrow win [IND-SRL:4-1(5/5)]

Irfan Pathan claimed five wickets and contributed valuable 29 runs as India managed a 20-run win over Sri Lanka in the dead fifth rubber to complete a 4-1 series drubbing. India posted a challenging 294 for seven after electing to bat and completed the win by bowling out the hosts for 274 in 45.4 overs at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. Playing XI:
India: Ajinkya Rahane, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, M S Dhoni (Captain), Suresh Raina, Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Ashok Dinda
Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Dinesh Chandimal, Chamara Kapugedera, Angelo Mathews (Captain), Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Sachithra Senanayake, Nuwan Pradeep, Lasith Malinga.
IND v SRL, 5th ODI, Pallekele: India 294/7 in 50ov (Gambhir 88, Tiwary 65, Dhoni 58) beat Sri Lanka 274 (Thirimanne 77, Mendis 72, Irfan 5-61) by 20 runs

India vs Sri Lanka 4th ODI at Colombo (RPS)

4th ODI IND vs SRL: [IND-SRL:3-1(4/5)]

IND v SRL, 4th ODI, Colombo: India 255/4 in 42.2 ov (Kohli 128*, Raina 58*) beat Sri Lanka 251/8 (Tharanga 51, Tiwary 4-61) by 6 wickets

India vs Sri Lanka 3rd ODI at Colombo (RPS)

3rd ODI IND vs SRL: Gambhir, Raina guide India to 5-wicket victory [IND-SRL:2-1(3/5)]

Gambhir (102) and Raina (65*) propelled India to a five wickets victory over Sri Lanka in the third ODI as they took 2-1 lead in the five-match series.
IND v SRL, 3rd ODI, Colombo (RPS): India 288/5 in 49.4 ov (Gambhir 102, Raina 65) bt Sri Lanka 286/5 (Sangakkara 73, Jayawardene 65, Mathews 71*) by 5 wkts

India vs Sri Lanka 2nd ODI at Hambantota

2nd ODI IND vs SRL: Sri Lanka thump India by nine wickets [IND-SRL:1-1(2/5)]

Sri Lankan openers Tillakaratne Dilshan (50) and Upul Tharanga (59*) scored a half-century each to thrash India by nine wickets in the second ODI. It was India's second worst defeat in terms of balls remaining (181). Their worst was also against SL, 209 balls in Dambulla in 2010. MS Dhoni won his second toss in two games, and elected to bat again, with an unchanged Indian team. They were all out for 138 in 33.3 overs with both Perera (8-3-19-3) and Mathews (7-2-14-3) taking 3 wickets each. Reported Earlier: After starting the new season with a comfortable victory, India will look to building up on their 1-0 lead when they take on Sri Lanka in the second One-day International Tuesday at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Hambantota. India cruised to a 21-run win over the islanders in the opening ODI - courtesy the vice-captain Kohli - who will look to capitalise on his great form that has seen him hit four centuries in his last five innings.
IND v SRL, 2nd ODI, Hambantota: Sri Lanka 139/1 (19.5 ov) beat India 138 (33.3 ov; Gambhir 65) by 9 wickets with 181 balls remaining

India vs Sri Lanka 1st ODI at Hambantota

1st ODI IND vs SRL: Sehwag, Kohli set up comfortable India win [IND-SRL:1-0(1/5)]

India put on 314 losing just 6 wickets in their first international game in four months, against Sri Lanka in their first ever appearance at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota. Team India elected to bat first after winning the toss, and then Sehwag and vice captain Virat Kohli got together to built a strong partnership and added crucial runs for the second wicket after losing Gambhir in the third over. Virat Kohli, who completed his fifth consecutive fifty in the ODIs, top scored for India with 106 off 113, while Sehwag (96) missed his ton by 4.With a 315-run target, Perera (44) and Sangakkara (133) were the only batsmen who looked good enough to chase it down, but the asking rate was climbing consistently through out the Sri Lanka innings. In the end they fell short by 21 runs. Playing XI:
India: Gambhir, Sehwag, Virat, Rohit, Dhoni (c,wk), Raina, Irfan, Ashwin, Zaheer, Ojha, Umesh
Sri Lanka: Dilshan, Tharanga, Sangakkara, Mahela, Chandimal, Mathews, Thirimanne Perera, Kulasekara, Herath, Malinga
IND v SRL, 1st ODI, Hambantota: India 314/6 (Sehwag 96, Kohli 106, Raina 50) beat Sri Lanka 293/9 (Sangakkara 133) by 21 runs

India in Sri Lanka ODI & T20I Series 2012

India Team selection

Sachin opts for rest, Zaheer and Sehwag return

Opener Virender Sehwag and seamer Zaheer Khan have made a comeback into the India side touring Sri Lanka while the Pathan brothers, Irfan and Yusuf, were left out. Harbhajan Singh was not considered by the selectors who opted for three spinners in Ravichandran Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha and Rahul Sharma. Meanwhile, Sachin Tendulkar is taking one of his frequent breaks from the shorter forms of the game as he bids to extend his international career.India Team: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli (vice capt), Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Manoj Tiwary, M S Dhoni (capt & wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Rahul Sharma, Zaheer Khan, R Vinay Kumar Irfan Pathan, Umesh Yadav, Ashok Dinda. Irfan Pathan has been named as a replacement of an injured Ranganath Vinay Kumar, who was ruled out with a hamstring injury, for the forthcoming limited overs series of Sri Lanka. Irfan was not a part of the original squad but will now get a chance to consolidate his position in the team.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.