India vs Sri Lanka Ist ODI at Dambulla

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India in Sri Lanka CricketSeries 2008

India vs Srilanka Live Cricket Score

India vs Sri Lanka Ist ODI at Dambulla

IND vs SL, 1st ODI, Dambulla: Sri Lanka beat India by eight wickets

Sri Lanka thrashed India by eight wickets Monday in the first one-day international with captain Mahela Jayawardene scoring an unbeaten 61.
After winning the toss and choosing to bat, India was dismissed for 146 runs in 46 overs - its worst one-day international total in Sri Lanka. In reply, Sri Lanka scored 147-2 with 15 overs to spare in the opening match of the five-match series.
India's innings was 17 runs lower than its previous worst batting performance in Sri Lanka - 163 all out in 1998. Young spinner Ajantha Mendis, who took 3-21, was named man of the match.
Despite its poor score, seam bowler Munaf Patel raised India's hopes with two early wickets. He dismissed opener Sanath Jayasuriya for 10 runs with India on 18. Jayasuriya stepped out to hit Patel only to sky the ball for a catch by Irfan Pathan. Kumar Sangakkara (19) tried to force the ball through the on-side but instead gave a simple return catch to Patel to leave Sri Lanka at 45-2.
However, the dismissal brought Jayawardene and Chamara Kapugedera together who guided their team to victory with an unbroken third-wicket partnership of 102.
The second one-day match takes place Wednesday. Sri Lanka Team: Jayasuriya, Sangakkara, M Jayawardene, Kapugedera, Silva, Dilshan, Vaas, Thushara, Kulasekara, Mendis, Muralitharan

India Team: Kohli, Gambhir, Raina, R Sharma, Yuvraj, Dhoni, I Pathan, Harbhajan, Zaheer, Ojha, Patel
IND vs SL, 1st ODI, Dambulla: Sri Lanka 147 for 2 (34.5 overs) beat India 146 all out (46.0 overs) by eight wickets

IND vs SL, 1st ODI, Dambulla: Openers Jayasuriya, Sehwag in explosive duel

Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardene are looking forward to an explosive start to their One-Day International series starting on Monday.
Sri Lanka's left-handed opener Sanath Jayasuriya may be 39, but remains a bowler's nightmare with his ability to change the course of a match with devastating stroke-play. India will not easily forget their last encounter with the Sri Lankan, who hammered a quick-fire century under pressure to set up his team's victory in the Asia Cup final in Karachi last month.
India's Virender Sehwag is an opener in form, having already hurt Sri Lanka with an unbeaten double-century in his team's victory in the second Test of a recent three-match series. Although India lost the series 2-1, Sehwag was one of the few batsmen to salvage batting pride as he emerged his team's top scorer with 344 runs.
"Jayasuriya in form is always a great thing because he can contribute with both bat and ball," Jayawardene said on Sunday. "The start he gives makes a huge difference. If he stays for 10 or 15 overs, you are guaranteed a good start. He is a bit like Sehwag for India. That gives a different dimension to our set-up."
Jayasuriya has been haunting India ever since he cracked a 76-ball 79 in a 1996 World Cup match at the Ferozeshah Kotla ground in New Delhi to power his team to an emphatic victory. He was a trendsetter, redefining batting in the 1996 Cup with his consistent over-the-top hitting in the early overs to take advantage of fielding restrictions.
Other teams followed suit, bringing in a hard-hitter at the top of the order. Jayasuriya appears to have a special liking for the Indian attack, having scored 2,429 runs in 74 matches with six hundreds. His best in 416 One-Day Internationals - 189 at Sharjah in 2000 - also came against India. He is the second-highest scorer in One-Day Internationals with 12,688 runs, behind only India's Sachin Tendulkar (16,361).
Like the Sri Lankan, the 29-year-old Sehwag is also capable of dominating any attack on any surface with rich stroke-play. The Indian has scored 5,810 runs in 191 matches with nine hundreds and 29 half-centuries.
"Whenever he (Sehwag) gives us a good start we have a fair chance of winning the match," said Dhoni. "A good start is very important in any form of cricket, but it does not mean the entire pressure is on the openers. Sehwag is a sort of player who takes a fair amount of risk. He is a stroke-player.
"He is in a very good nick and so is Gautam Gambhir. They did well in the Tests also and will have added responsibility, but no pressure." Dhoni said it was important for his team to dismiss Jayasuriya early.
"Jayasuriya can be compared with Sehwag or (retired Australian) Adam Gilchrist. It is important not to let them have a good start," said Dhoni. "They are the batsmen who take chances. They can commit mistakes if you try to restrict them. All these players are very different, but for someone like Jayasuriya, it's important to get him out early."
India and Sri Lanka will play five One-Day Internationals, with the first two to be held here and the remaining three in Colombo. Sri Lanka team (from): Mahela Jayawardene (capt.), Kumar Sangakkara (Wicket Keeper), Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Udawatte, Chamara Silva, Chamara Kapugedera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Malinda Warnapura, Jehan Mubarak, Chaminda Vaas, Muttiah Muralitharan, Dilhara Fernando, Ajantha Mendis, Thilan Thushara and Nuwan Kulasekara.
India team (from): M.S. Dhoni (capt. & wk), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, S. Badrinath, Virat Kohli, Parthiv Patel, Irfan Pathan, Praveen Kumar, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, R.P. Singh, Munaf Patel and Pragyan Ojha.

India in Sri Lanka CricketSeries 2008

India vs Srilanka Live Cricket Score

India vs Sri Lanka Ist ODI at Dambulla


India won the toss and decided to bat
146 all out (46.0 overs)
147 for 2 (34.5 overs)

India Innings - All out
b Vaas
2 0 0
Kohli lbw b Kulasekara
22 1 0
Raina c Silva b Kulasekara
35 2 0
b Mendis
30 2 1
R Sharma c M Jayawardene b Thushara
31 1 1
Dhoni c M Jayawardene b Mendis
28 0 0
I Pathan lbw b Muralitharan
19 0 0
Harbhajan c Sangakkara b Muralitharan
28 0 0
Zaheer c Thushara b Muralitharan
38 0 0
Ojha not out
29 1 0
b Mendis
14 1 1
3w 2b 2lb 7
all out 146 (46.0 ovs)

Vaas 9.0 0 34 1
Kulasekara 7.0 0 23 2
Thushara 6.0 0 18 1
Mendis 9.0 4 21 3
Muralitharan 10.0 2 37 3
Jayasuriya 5.0 1 9 0
Fall of wicket
0 Gambhir
23 Kohli
36 Raina
73 Yuvraj
75 R Sharma
87 Dhoni
87 I Pathan
107 Zaheer
117 Harbhajan
146 Patel

Sri Lanka Innings - Close
Jayasuriya c I Pathan b Patel
14 1 0
Sangakkara c and b Patel
41 2 0
M Jayawardene not out
82 7 0
Kapugedera not out
72 4 0
5w 4b 3lb 12
for 2 147 (34.5 ovs)

Patel 9.0 0 32 2
Zaheer 7.0 1 24 0
I Pathan 7.0 0 35 0
Harbhajan 4.0 0 18 0
Ojha 3.0 0 9 0
R Sharma 2.5 0 11 0
Raina 2.0 0 11 0
Fall of wicket
18 Jayasuriya
45 Sangakkara

Umpires: E A R de Silva, B R Doctrove
Sri Lanka: Jayasuriya, Sangakkara, M Jayawardene, Kapugedera, Silva, Dilshan, Vaas, Thushara, Kulasekara, Mendis, Muralitharan
India: Kohli, Gambhir, Raina, R Sharma, Yuvraj, Dhoni, I Pathan, Harbhajan, Zaheer, Ojha, Patel

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.